Mapping, sonification, and visualizing dynamic, “avisual” energies of urban environments. Currently in phase 1: Sound Ecology.

Modern topological mapping systems are typically static and focus on physical and visible objects such as buildings and streets. Citygram aims to create a dynamic mapping system based on sensor networks, automatic data streaming, machine learning/analytics, visualization, and artistic potentials. The first iteration of Citygram focuses on exploring spatio-acoustic energies to reveal meaningful information including noise pollution, traffic patterns, and spatial emotion/mood. Our system is currently being developed to work on Google maps.


Tae Hong Park is a composer, bassist, and music technologist. He received his Bachelor of Engineering degree in Electronics from Korea University in 1994 and has worked in the area of digital communication systems and digital musical keyboards at the LG Central Research Laboratory in Seoul, Korea from 1994 to 1998. He also holds degrees from Dartmouth College (M.A. in Electro-Acoustic Music) and Princeton University (M.F.A and Ph.D. in composition). His current interests are primarily in composition of electro-acoustic and acoustic music, technical research in multi-dimensional aspects of timbre, pattern recognition, signal processing, automatic musical instrument classification, and computer-aided music analysis.

His music has been heard in various locations including Austria, Brazil, China, Canada, France, Germany, Holland, Hungary, Ireland, South Korea, Slovenia, Sweden, UK, and USA; in venues, conferences and festivals including Aether Fest, Bourges, CEAIT, CYNETart, DIEM, EarZoom, Electric Rainbow Coalition, EMM, EUCUE Series, FEMS, ffmup, High Voltage, ICMC, Into the Soundscape V, ISMEAM, klangprojektionen, LACMA, LITSK, MATA, MAXIS, NWEAMO, Pulse Field, Reflexionen Festival, Santa Fe International Festival of Electro-Acoustic Music, SICMF, SEAMUS, Sonorities Festival, Spark Festival, Third Practice, and Transparent Tape Music Festival. His works have been played by groups and performers such as the Argento Ensemble, Brentano String Quartet, California E.A.R. Unit, Ensemble Surplus, Wayne Dumaine, Edward Carroll, Entropy, Zoe Martlew, Nash Ensemble of London, New Jersey Symphony Orchestra, and the Tarab Cello Ensemble. He is Chief Editor of Journal SEAMUS, serves as Editorial Consultant for Computer Music Journal, is President of ICMA (2010 ~ ), and served as chair and organizer of the ICMC 2006 conference.

He previously taught at Tulane University and Georgia State University as Associate Professor and headed the Music Science and Technology programs at Tulane. He is currently Associate Professor of Composition and Music Technology at NYU.

OpenGrounds OpenTable Discussion with Tae Hong Park
Electro-Acoustic Music Mine
Tues March 25, 12:30-2 pm, WallSpace

The Electro-Acoustic Music Mine (EAMM) project focuses on creating a permanent, sustainable, expandable, open, and easily accessible electro-acoustic preservation model using paradigms that follow a crowd-sourced submission, curation, and interactive electro-acoustic music exploration system. This project is in collaboration with the International Computer Music Association (ICMA) and NYU Libraries.

Register >

For more information contact Lindsey Hepler
lhepler@virginia.edu, 434.243.4889.